Mortgage Servicing Fraud
occurs post loan origination when mortgage servicers use false statements and book-keeping entries, fabricated assignments, forged signatures and utter counterfeit intangible Notes to take a homeowner's property and equity.
Articles |The FORUM |Law Library |Videos | Fraudsters & Co. |File Complaints |How they STEAL |Search MSFraud |Contact Us
Ann

Standing at Inception, Appropriately Raised Via Motion to Dismiss

Foreclosure defense attorneys see this fact-pattern frequently. The Note attached to the original Complaint contains no endorsements, yet the Note attached to an Amended Complaint is specially endorsed to the Plaintiff or endorsed in blank. This prompts an obvious question – “When was the Note endorsed?”

Plaintiffs’ attorneys love to argue this doesn’t matter because they have the original Note, with an endorsement, so they’re the holder. However, as I’ve been arguing for many years, including here, here, and here, that’s not sufficient – foreclosure plaintiffs must show they had standing at the inception of the case. Specifically, foreclosure plaintiffs must show they had an endorsement (or an assignment, as the case may be) and possession of the original Note before filing the underlying lawsuit.

In recent months, Florida’s appellate courts have borne out this distinction, requiring plaintiffs to prove ”standing at inception” to prevail in a foreclosure case. See Feltus v. U.S. Bank, N.A., Case No. 2D10-3272 (Fla. 2d DCA 2012); McLean v. J.P. Morgan Chase Bank, N.A., Case No. 4D10-3429 (Fla. 4th DCA 2012); Venture Holdings & Acquisitions Group, LLC v. A.I.M. Funding Group, LLC, 75 So. 3d 773 (Fla. 4th DCA 2012). Notably, these cases make it clear that an outright dismissal (without leave to amend) is the only proper remedy for a foreclosure plaintiff which lacks standing when suit was filed.